Stanford University

Stanford, CA · Large suburb

AskSchool #13 of 300Private nonprofitDoctoral university – very high research (R1)Test optional
Acceptance rate
3.6%
Most recent year reported
Average net price
$13,807
Sticker price $87,833
Graduation rate
92%
Within 6 years
Median earnings
$124,080
10 years after starting

Admissions

Acceptance rate (most recent year)
3.6%
Applicants (fall 2023)
53,733
Admitted (fall 2023)
2,099
Enrolled freshmen (fall 2023)
1,699
Yield (admitted who enroll)
81%
Acceptance rate – women (fall 2023)
4.0%
Acceptance rate – men (fall 2023)
3.9%
SAT reading, middle 50%
740–780
SAT math, middle 50%
770–800
ACT composite, middle 50%
34–35
Enrollees who sent SAT / ACT
47% / 22%

Source: IPEDS Admissions survey, fall 2023 entering class; test ranges and rate from U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (June 2026 release)

What they look at

High school GPA
required
High school class rank
considered
High school record (transcript)
required
College-prep program completed
considered
Recommendations
required
Demonstration of competencies
considered
SAT/ACT scores
considered
English proficiency test (TOEFL etc.)
considered
Other test
not considered
Work experience
considered
Personal statement or essay
required
Legacy status
considered

“Considered” means the college uses it if you submit it, but it isn’t required.

Source: IPEDS Admissions survey, fall 2023 entering class

What families actually pay

Average yearly net price (after grants and scholarships) for first-time, full-time students who got aid, by family income.

Family income $0–30knot reported
Family income $30–48knot reported
Family income $48–75k$3,212
Family income $75–110k$11,092
Family income $110k+$53,882
Full sticker price (per year)
$87,833
Tuition & fees – in-state
$65,910
Tuition & fees – out-of-state
$65,910
Median debt at graduation
$12,000
Students with federal loans
6.2%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (June 2026 release)

Outcomes

Graduate within 6 years
92%
Freshmen who return for year 2
98%
Median earnings, 1 year after graduating
$89,527
Median earnings, 10 years after starting
$124,080

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (June 2026 release)

Students & campus

Undergraduates
7,554
Graduate students
10,721
Student-to-faculty ratio
6 : 1
Women
52%
Students receiving Pell grants
19%
Full-time faculty
99%

Undergraduate diversity

Asian29%
White23%
Hispanic17%
International13%
Two or more9.6%
Black7.4%
American Indian/Alaska Native0.8%
Unknown0.5%
Pacific Islander0.2%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (June 2026 release)

Most popular majors

Computer & Information Sciences21%
Interdisciplinary Studies19%
Social Sciences15%
Engineering15%
Mathematics & Statistics5.5%
Physical Sciences3.7%
Biology & Biomedical Sciences3.4%
Psychology3.4%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (June 2026 release) (share of bachelor’s degrees awarded)

Contacts & links

Source: IPEDS Institutional Characteristics, 2024–25

How to apply

PlanApply byDecision
Restrictive Early ActionNovember 1mid-December
Regular DecisionJanuary 5early April
Apply with
Common App
Application fee
$100 (waivers available)
SAT/ACT
Required
Recommendations
1 counselor + 2 academic teachers

Testing: ACT or SAT scores listed as an application requirement

Financial aid policies

  • Meets 100% of demonstrated need
  • No-loan financial aid
  • CSS Profile required (plus FAFSA)
  • No tuition under $150,000 income; no tuition or room/board under $100,000 (typical assets)

Early rounds & waitlist (2025-2026)

Waitlist: offered / accepted / admitted
669 / 573 / 57

Source: the college’s official website and Common Data Set 2025-2026: admission.stanford.edu, admission.stanford.edu, admission.stanford.edu, financialaid.stanford.edu. Dates can change, so always confirm on the college’s site.