California Institute of Technology

Pasadena, CA · Midsize city

AskSchool #7 of 300Private nonprofitDoctoral university – very high research (R1)Test blind
Acceptance rate
2.6%
Most recent year reported
Average net price
$16,075
Sticker price $86,886
Graduation rate
94%
Within 6 years
Median earnings
$128,566
10 years after starting

Admissions

Acceptance rate (most recent year)
2.6%
Applicants (fall 2023)
13,107
Admitted (fall 2023)
412
Enrolled freshmen (fall 2023)
266
Yield (admitted who enroll)
65%
Acceptance rate – women (fall 2023)
4.4%
Acceptance rate – men (fall 2023)
2.6%
SAT reading, middle 50%
—
SAT math, middle 50%
—
ACT composite, middle 50%
—
Enrollees who sent SAT / ACT
— / —

Source: IPEDS Admissions survey, fall 2023 entering class; test ranges and rate from U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (June 2026 release)

What they look at

High school GPA
considered
High school class rank
considered
High school record (transcript)
required
College-prep program completed
considered
Recommendations
required
Demonstration of competencies
considered
SAT/ACT scores
not considered
English proficiency test (TOEFL etc.)
required
Other test
not considered
Work experience
considered
Personal statement or essay
required
Legacy status
not considered

“Considered” means the college uses it if you submit it, but it isn’t required.

Source: IPEDS Admissions survey, fall 2023 entering class

What families actually pay

Average yearly net price (after grants and scholarships) for first-time, full-time students who got aid, by family income.

Family income $0–30knot reported
Family income $30–48knot reported
Family income $48–75k$431
Family income $75–110k$18,753
Family income $110k+$54,157
Full sticker price (per year)
$86,886
Tuition & fees – in-state
$65,898
Tuition & fees – out-of-state
$65,898
Median debt at graduation
—
Students with federal loans
4.3%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (June 2026 release)

Outcomes

Graduate within 6 years
94%
Freshmen who return for year 2
97%
Median earnings, 1 year after graduating
$102,669
Median earnings, 10 years after starting
$128,566

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (June 2026 release)

Students & campus

Undergraduates
987
Graduate students
1,443
Student-to-faculty ratio
3 : 1
Women
45%
Students receiving Pell grants
18%
Full-time faculty
91%

Undergraduate diversity

Asian36%
White19%
Hispanic17%
International14%
Two or more8.9%
Black4.7%
American Indian/Alaska Native0.1%
Pacific Islander0.1%
Unknown0.1%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (June 2026 release)

Most popular majors

Computer & Information Sciences35%
Engineering28%
Physical Sciences15%
Mathematics & Statistics12%
Biology & Biomedical Sciences8.0%
Business & Marketing1.2%

Source: U.S. Dept. of Education College Scorecard (June 2026 release) (share of bachelor’s degrees awarded)

Contacts & links

President
Thomas F. Rosenbaum
Main phone
(626) 395-6811
Address
1200 E California Blvd, Pasadena, CA 91125

Source: IPEDS Institutional Characteristics, 2024–25

How to apply (2026–27)

PlanApply byDecision
Restrictive Early ActionNovember 1mid-December
Regular DecisionJanuary 4mid-March
Apply with
Common App, QuestBridge
Application fee
$85 (waivers available)
SAT/ACT
Required
Essays
Caltech supplemental essays on the Common App

Testing: SAT or ACT required; testing deadline Nov 30 (REA) or Dec 31 (RD)

Financial aid policies

  • Need-blind for U.S. applicants
  • Meets 100% of demonstrated need
  • CSS Profile required (plus FAFSA)
  • Merit scholarships: None; aid is need-based
  • No-loan packages for family income under $100,000; tuition covered under $200,000

Early rounds & waitlist (2025-2026)

Waitlist: offered / accepted / admitted
263 / 211 / 1

Source: the college’s official website and Common Data Set 2025-2026: admissions.caltech.edu, admissions.caltech.edu, admissions.caltech.edu, finaid.caltech.edu. Dates can change, so always confirm on the college’s site.